Heart Crayons (tutorial included)


When flipped over they look awesome!

When flipped over they look awesome!

I’ve seen these things all over the internet and I’ve been wanting to try it out since this time last year. Well I finally got to make them and I have to say it was really fun and want to make more!! I got a silicone heart mold at Walmart for like $3.50 not bad since its going to be used for crayons, then a box of 48 crayons at Dollar Tree.

All the crayons broken up and ready

All the crayons broken up and ready

Tonight me, D & T sat at the dinning room table and peeled off the paper from the crayons, now the tutorials I have read said to soak them but c’mon soak them then have to try them takes longer. Instead we sat down and peeled them only took about 15 mins not bad especially with a 3 year old helping. Once we got them peeled we got the mold and started breaking up the crayons into pieces, T had a blast doing this, he got to figure out the different colors he wanted to mix. Once we got them all broken up and into the molds, I placed the pan into the oven, now it said 10 mins but it took about 15 mins baking time but every oven is different. T actually started crying cause I put the crayons in the oven, I had to explain we were doing a magic trick taking broken crayons and making them into one.

This is what they looked like when sitting in the molds

This is what they looked like when sitting in the molds

I carefully pulled the pan out and set on the counter, after about 5 mins they were starting to harden up I was able to move them into our freezer. I let T go and check them out in the freezer he thought they were really cool and wanted them even tho they weren’t ready yet, but he didn’t get them. I would say total of 30 mins to cool they were ready for use and T was all excited when he heard they were ready.

T trying out the crayons

T trying out the crayons

I couldn’t believe how awesome they came out and how cool they are to color with. I really can’t wait to make more and have all sorts of different colors. This is def a fun activity to do with your child(ren) and it don’t cost much to do so either. If you are interested in trying them out click HERE to get the tutorial I used. Its really simple and easy to follow and make, I hope everyone tries this and has as much fun as we did!

See it works!!

See it works!!

 

 

 

One thought on “Heart Crayons (tutorial included)

Leave a Reply

