Winter Hats! (tutorial included)


Being a goof (Thomas side of hat)

Being a goof (Thomas side of hat)

Vanessa from Crafty Gemini posted a video tutorial a while back about winter hats, and I thought they were so frigging cool. T needed a new hat cause the one he had was starting to get small. So a trip to Jo-Anns it was, I got Thomas & Friends fabric and Toy Story fabric cause it can be reversible and those are his 2 favorite so it all works out!

A goof again (Toy Story side of hat)

A goof again (Toy Story side of hat)

Making the hat was so easy, I think it took me about 30-45 mins to make including cutting time, now that ain’t bad for being a new pattern to work with and working with fleece I do not like working with that kind of fabric. I was so proud of myself I couldn’t believe how cute the hat came out, when T got home I showed it to him and he was all excited cause it had Thomas & James on it, then when I showed him it was reversible he got even more excited!

My ma with her new hat.

My ma with her new hat.

My ma wanted a winter hat too, so I told her get the fabric you want (I told her how much she needed) and I will make it for you. Vanessa provides patterns for both a child size and an adult size. My ma went with pink camo that has John Deere on it and a plain pink with some marbling to it. I don’t like pinks but I think the marbled looking one was really nice. I got her hat made in about the same time as T’s and this one came out just as frigging cute!

T with his Gigi & their new hats.

T with his Gigi & their new hats.

Now D wants me to go out and get materials to make him one, I have an idea on what I wanna look for but its gotta wait til Friday. We live in WNY and winters are always crazy so you never know when you need a winter hat!

(If you didn’t notice there are clickable links on top that will take you to the tutorial, if you didn’t see it just click HERE and will take you to the tutorial)

One thought on “Winter Hats! (tutorial included)

Leave a Reply

