Random Discussions, Sewing Projects

Special birthday gifts!


This year for T’s birthday I made him a few gifts and we also bought him some gifts. After some thinking I came up a few ideas to make T some stuff. The first thing I made him was a rag quilt, I had T go thru my fabric stash and pick out the fabric he liked and left it at that. The rag quilt I have to say was easy to make but the hardest part was all the cutting of the fabric and batting, it seemed like I was never going to get it all cut out. Once I got the blanket made T kept asking if he could have his blanket and I kept telling him no, then it got to the point where I told him its not for you its for another little boy. I didn’t want to lie but I finally got him to stop asking about the blanket so this way when his birthday did get here he forgot all about it.

Rag quilt
Rag quilt

Next thing I made was a Superman cape, T is starting to get into the super hero’s and stuff, he is a big fan of Krypto the Superdog and Superman, so I decided to make him his own superman cape. I seen a few capes at the store I could have just bought but they looked so lame, so I saved myself some money bought some fabric and make him a cape. I made the symbol out of felt and boy was that not easy to do, but I managed to get it done without messing up! He is starting to love his cape more and more, and its so cute watching him run around with his cape on pretending to be superman.

Superman cape!
Superman cape!

 

I also made him some superman shorts, I just simply used another pair of his shorts he had and went from there. I made them a little longer then his other ones cause he just keeps growing tall but in the legs. He freaked when he seen his shorts mainly cause they had superman on them!

Superman shorts
Superman shorts

The last thing I made T was a birthday shirt. I was so scared when it came to actually sewing the appliques onto the shirt. I thought I was going to mess up a couple times, but I took my time and got everything sewn onto his shirt. The shirt actually came out very nice and I actually stunned myself on how cute it came out.

Birthday shirt
Birthday shirt

I am so glad my son loves getting homemade gifts from his mumma, I love being able to make gifts cause to me it means more because it comes from the heart and has more meaning behind it.

T loves his shirt!
T loves his shirt!
Leave a Reply

