Crafts, Random Discussions

Frayed mini heart pillow!


DSCN1960
T and his pillow

I found this really cute tutorial on Pinterest for a no-sew heart pillow. The project only called for a few simple items, and was supposed to be easy to make. Well apparently I didn’t make my heart template the right size so I made it my way.

If you’d like to see the original idea I found click HERE.

I made mine similar to what was on Pinterest except I did sew mine. To make one like mine you will need just a few items.

Supplies:

-felt in color of your choice (I used red & pink)

-heart template from paper

-scissors

-erasable pen or chalk

-stuffing (craft stuffing, old pillow, whatever you wanna use)

-sewing machine (or can hand sew)

 

Instructions: 

Simply make a heart template out of paper. I took a regular 8 x11 sheet of paper and drew a heart on it.  This is the paper template you will use to cut your heart out, then drew a second heart in the middle of the paper. Now when I did this to follow the original I didn’t leave enough gap so the edges could be tied. Lay the felt pieces on top of each other and trace the heart, both the outer side of the heart and the inner side of the heart.

DSCN1951

 

 

Next, cut the heart out, if you keep the pieces of felt together, you can cut from both pieces at the same time. You will only cut the outer heart, DO NOT cut the inside heart. Take the heart to your sewing machine, and stitch on the outline of the inner heart, remembering to leave a gap open so you can stuff it. Next, start cutting strips around the outside of the heart, this will give it that frayed look. (picture below shows how it should look after doing all this)

DSCN1952

Of course T was busy drawing and he was really concentrating on drawing his train pictures. This project you could do with your child, but T didn’t wanna help, he wanted to draw and watching Stuart Little 2.

DSCN1954

Last two steps, simply stuff your heart to as full as you’d like it, then once its fully stuffed, take your heart back to the sewing machine and stitch the heart closed. It may be a bit tricky, but try and push the stuffing to one side of the heart and stitch it shut. Also if you’re hand sewing just do the same thing.

 

Now you are finished with your mini heart pillow. Took me about 10 minutes to make the pillow, not bad for a quick Valentines project. The pillow could also be used for your child’s favorite stuffed animal. T already said he will being giving Blu (his favorite bear) this pillow to use. Go ahead and give the project a try, would love to see how your’s turned out!! I really wish I was able to do the no-sew pillow but I think my way came out just as good 🙂

Leave a Reply

