DIY glass magnets


I’ve seen these all the time on Pinterest and shops on Etsy selling them, I finally decided to give them a try. These things are so cute and very easy to make! These would make a great little gift for anyone, and you can make a lot for a small price.

I got everything at Dollar Tree minus magnets

I got everything at Dollar Tree minus magnets

Supplies:

  • Flat clear marbles – these can be purchased at Dollar Tree
  • Mod Podge – available at some Dollar Tree stores as well
  • Magnets – I got a set of like 16 for $2 at Walmart
  • Scrapbook paper or any image you want – I used what I had on hand
  • paint brush
  • Super glue or hot glue gun

Step 1

-Either trace around the flat marble and cut out the circle or apply mod podge to the marble and place over image you want to use. Let this sit and dry for about 15 minutes give or take.

I placed mine on the images I wanted to use

I placed mine on the images I wanted to use

Step 2

-If you had already cut out the circle in step 1 skip this step. If you placed the marble on the image and haven’t cut, carefully trim as close to the flat marble as you can.

20150529_164919

Carefully trimmed close to the marble then placed magnet on back.

Step 3

-Take your magnet and apply super glue or whichever you decide to use to the back of the magnet then place on the flat part of the marble (which should also be the back of the image). Let the glue dry completely.

Step 4

-Once dry, enjoy looking at your cool new glass magnets.

Two of the finished magnets!! (doesn't T look cute in his kindergarten grad pic?!)

Two of the finished magnets!! (doesn’t T look cute in his kindergarten grad pic?!)

Now ain’t they cute?! You can use whatever picture you’d like to make for your magnet. I’m thinking making a few with Thomas & Friends for T, he would love seeing these on the fridge. These are just so easy to make and a fun gift to give to anyone. If you want you can even get your child(ren) to help too. Go ahead and give them a try, if you do I would love to hear what you think!

One thought on “DIY glass magnets

Leave a Reply

