Have you heard of RetroGameCon?


92a04d9ce5c269153cf38826d80a81aaff01249e562ac734e3ac4986b6949d94

I’ve never heard of RetroGameCon until June 8th, its a small 1 day event that is a retro video gaming convention in Central New York, its in Syracuse at the NYS fairgrounds and is on November 14th.

Well I was contacted by the assistant director of the event and was asked if I would like to be a vendor at the convention! My heart was racing and I was beyond excited, I’ve never been asked if I wanted to be part of something like this. I thought, how awesome this would be and, that it would be great for my little Etsy shop, help get my name out there. That day I started thinking of new ideas and what all I would make and sell there.

Few days later, I came back to reality, I realized, even tho it is flipping AWESOME to be asked to be part of something like this, I really can’t. I got super bummed about not being able to be part of this. There is just too many things that is causing me not to be able to go and it really sucks.

I don’t drive, so (as funny as it sounds) I would have to have my mom drive me and we live about 2.5-3 hours from Syracuse. I would have to leave that Friday, pay for a hotel for the whole weekend, cause I have to be there at like 7am for set up and stay til like 8pm. So that means my fiance would have to miss a days work, my son will miss a day of school. Plus what would my mother and son do for the 13 hours I’m at the RetroGameCon. It wouldn’t be too bad if my fiance missed a days work and my son missed a day of school, its just coming up with all the money for the hotel and small fee to have a table at the con. It is really heartbreaking not to be able to be a part of something I’ve always wanted to do. If I had family or friends that lived in Syracuse I would be able to do it and save so much money, but sadly no.

Have you ever had the opportunity to do something you’ve always wanted to do, but when it came down to figuring out all this especially the money part, it just throws your dream right out the window?

2 thoughts on “Have you heard of RetroGameCon?

  1. I feel bad that this was one of those chances to really showcase your abilities and it was missed :(. But never get up, ever! As long as I live and live for you and support you in all you do, you will get another chance and I will do all I can to make sure you never miss a chance like that again 🙂

    Like

    • It really sucks 😦 like I have til October to register but I still don’t think I can get the money in time, what hurts the most when it comes to the money is getting a hotel. I sure do hope to have another chance at something like this. I’ve had to turn down 2 events already due to finances 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

